Michael HaberLearn more. ” href=”http://www.avvo.com/legal-answers/what-happens-if-you-do-not-pay-a-civil-recovery-of-2246241.html#!” rel=”nofollow” style=”-webkit-transition: all 0.3s ease; color: #006699; text-decoration: none; transition: all 0.3s ease;”>PRO
In Florida, in order for a retailer to get the penalty, the retailer has to be able to prove (by clear and convincing evidence) that they were injured by your theft. The statute (see F.S. 772.11 – http://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2012/772.11 ) authorizes them to seek a minimum of $200 in damages, but to do that they have to file a civil lawsuit, which will cost them hundreds and maybe more just to file, and hundreds or even thousands more to prosecute their claim.
In Florida, the civil demand letter to you is essentially an offer to settle a potential civil lawsuit for $200.00, a lawsuit which is not yet and which may never actually be filed. That said, and again in Florida, whether or not you pay is a personal, and a not a criminal defense attorney related question.
All of that said, again I am not an AL lawyer and you are best advised to find a Daphne, AL area criminal defense lawyer, engage in a meaningful consultation and get yourself some advise which is legally sound and has been custom tailored to meet your needs in your case.
I hope that I have been helpful in answering your question.
FOLLOW http://habercriminallaw.blogspot.com ~
SUBSCRIBE https://www.youtube.com/c/michaelhaberlaw ~ SEE www.criminallaw.miami ~ CALL 1-888-SHARK-8-1







